The Waukee Schools Foundation is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019 Foundation Scholarships. The Scholarships recognize students who have made a positive impact on their family, school and community.

Our Scholarship Committee received 196 applications, and after a thorough review and interview process, selected 25 students to receive $1,000 each. Our Scholarship Committee is made up of seven community members.┬áThe process is similar to the blind auditions on “The Voice.” During the initial review, applicants are only identified by their student ID numbers. Selected groups of students were then invited for interviews, where they talked with the Committee about different aspects of their lives and their time in the Waukee School District.

Scholarships Committee Chair Nikki Opsal said, “Selecting this year’s 25 was not an easy process. We had so many great applicants, but in the end, our Committee felt really good about this year’s recipients.”

The 25 scholarship winners will be publicly recognized at Senior Awards Night on Wednesday, May 15 at Waukee High School. Congratulations, and best wishes on your bright futures!

Gautham Ajith, Isabella Anania, Zachary Biklen, Nathan Brush, Rachael Colwell, Brooke Folkers, Nate Goodwin, Olivia Gorden, Daniel Haisch, Jack Henry, Elicia Hoth, Elle Kramer, Elizabeth Messman, Carter Moseley, Ellsandra Muse, Claire Petersen, Mitchell Pollitt, Madison Rahn, Hannah Sand, Tyler Schutt, Grant Shaw, Kara Smith, Kaitlyn Tope, Charlize Tornell, Sarah Ummach